Portrait of Mark Bowden under some lights
Mark Bowden logo


Five Memos

An image of the word 'multiplicity'
Mark's new piece Five Memos for violin and piano, commissioned by London Music Masters for Hyeyoon Park and Huw Watkins, is inspired by the writings of the Italian author Italo Calvino and will be premiered at the Newbury Spring Festival on May 10th. Calvino was due to deliver the Charles Eliot Norton Lectures series at Harvard in 1985-6 but suddenly died before taking up the professorship. The incomplete scripts were published in 1988 as Six Memos for the Next Millennium. The five surviving essays explore artistic virtues that Calvino wanted to pass on to future generations.

Hyeyoon Park violin, Huw Watkins piano
Sunday 10th May 7.30pm | St Mary's Church, Kintbury

Hyeyoon Park violin, Roderick Chadwick piano
Tuesday 12th May 7.30pm | The Estorick Collection of Modern Italian Art, London

If you’d like to keep up-to-date with Mark and his work please subscribe to the Newsletter